8:30am – 5:00pm

Monday to Friday

P. O. Box CO 1816

Tema Comm 4, U 16

0303 200 585

Wacam Operational Areas – 2014

Wacam has eight operational zones in four regions of Ghana namely, Western, Ashanti, Brong Ahafo and Eastern Regions. The areas of operations are Akyem Newmont, Donkro Nkwanta, Akyem Muamuadu, Prestea, Tarkwa, Obuasi, Kenyase and Nzema. Wacam has Zonal Officers who are usually volunteers to co-ordinate the activities of the operational areas. Wacam has zoned its operational areas for ease of work. The table below shows the zones and the number of communities.

Name of Zone
No. of Communities in Zone
Region Remarks
Ahafo zone 11 Brong - Ahafo Newmont Ahafo operational area
Donkro Nkwanta 12 Brong - Ahafo Communities contacted by Newmont
Obuasi 15 Ashanti AGA Obuasi mine area
Prestea / Dumase 8 Western Golden Star Resources (Prestea/ Bogoso Mine)
Tarkwa 4 Western Goldfields Ghana Limited (Tarkwa and Abosso Mines)
Nzema 8 Western Oil communities
Akyem Mumuadu 10 Eastern Kibi Goldfields operational area. Other communities are working to prevent irresponsible mining in their area.
Akyem 6 Eastern Newmont Akyem project area